Goats of the Month - Peanut & Puddles

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Goat Frenzy > How much Hay or Pellets to feed?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2008, 06:16 AM   #1
trainhound

Default How much Hay or Pellets to feed?

Hi, I have 2 4 month old female nubians. How much hay should they get per day? If i go over to feeding alfalfa pellets how much should I feed?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2008, 11:48 AM   #2
Di
Crazy Goat Lady

Liked 549 Times on 392 Posts
Likes Given: 1071

Default Re: How much Hay or Pellets to feed?

Well, first off WELCOME to TGS! I'm sure the folks here can give you very good advice! Another good website to start with is http://www.fiascofarm.com. I am a newbie too. This is my first year of kidding. So, I'll start till more experience comes on. Anyway, when I got my little ones I just filled the feeder and fed free choice hay. And of course fresh water. Goats appreciate warm water when its cold. I'm sure it depends upon whether or not they have any pasture? From what I've read, alfalfa pellets aren't good as a complete ration because they don't have the long fiber that hay provides...goats being ruminants. I feed my young goats just a handful of a 12% grain mix, just enough to make them easy to get a hold of. But, with full size dairy goats you might need more...someone will correct me here.

So, fyi, we require pictures. Tell us more about your little does! And yourself!

us on face book!
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rocky-Ridge-Farm/265587983495559?ref=hl

Old 04-14-2008, 12:01 PM   #3
Julie

Send a message via AIM to Julie

I also feed free choice hay. ALthough I suppose if you would need to ration it out - make sure you give them approx a "lap" or "flake" of hay for every one-two goats.