You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of The Goat Spot    

Goats of the Month - Pumpkin Pie

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Fuzzy Fibers > angora shearing questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 09:30 PM   #1
ohiogoatgirl

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default angora shearing questions

hi! i have a pair of old shears from the farm. they are in great condition and sharp as anything. but i'm a newbie to angora's and i'm nervous about shearing them. i want to do it myself. i was wondering if anyone had any tips for shearing. if y'all could share your tips or advice it would be much appreciated. and what do you use to shear? depending on how my hand shearing goes and prices i might look at new clippers.
thanks!

Homestead Nowhere
trying to get an elbow in on homesteading
http://www.youtube.com/user/girlwalkswi ... ature=mhee

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
ohiogoatgirl

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Re: angora shearing questions

i just got them today. they have really nasty butts... i'm not sure if this is just how they are or what. should i clip their butt a little? its like hair and excrement... total ew!

and under their chins are so icky, wet and has a bunch of hay right there. can i keep trimming it right there during the year to keep it from getting nasty. i was thinking if its okay to trim that then i could use the short clippings to make dollhair and stuff. i have a few ideas...

anyone???

Homestead Nowhere

Old 03-18-2011, 03:41 PM   #3
ohiogoatgirl

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

here is a link to a page that sells hand shears that look like new versions of the pair i have:
http://www.ivorys.com/sheep_shearing_hand_shears.htm

i will be using them for my first shearing.
can anyone give me some shearing tips or links to helpful pages?
thanks!

Homestead Nowhere

Old 03-24-2011, 06:40 PM   #4
Di
Crazy Goat Lady

Liked 549 Times on 392 Posts