Goats of the Month - Peanut & Puddles

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Fuzzy Fibers > Oral Ivermectin question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2007, 07:57 PM   #1
artzkat
TGS_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Oral Ivermectin question

Hi All! Glad to be back to this group..was on GW

I am a newbie goat owner..have 7 amazing Pygoras that I got as babies that are now10 months old. Every day I find out how much I DON'T know!

We had weird HOT weather here until 2 days ago so I am now treating for worms. My vet had me give them subQ Ivermectin last month..but a fecal last week shows that I will have to dose again.

I want to give it orally, as I HATE giving them shots if not necessary..so here are my questions...
If I give it orally do I just squirt 1CC it into their mouths with the syringe (without needle of course)? I've heard that they can react badly to this.

Since they are nutty about cracked corn (which they seldom get, but for special treat), could I squirt it on individual rations of corn for them and feed that? Or inject it into apple slices?????

Any suggestions from you veteran goat owners????

Kat C.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2007, 08:27 PM   #2
needs to know more

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

You can give it orally!!! doses vary depending on who you ask. I give 1 cc per 25 lbs or there about. I always round up, better to give to much than not enough. They don't like it but don't react that bad!!!! I put it in from the side of the mouth, aiming for the back of the tonge. They may spit or lose a little of it. I always give a treat afterwards, and all my goats still love me!!!!!! I have given wormers in treats before, but prefer to give them the wormer and then the treat. That way you know they are getting what she should be getting.

Old 10-25-2007, 09:14 PM   #3
StaceyRosado
TGS_ADMIN.png

Liked 2736 Times on 1715 Posts
Likes Given: 571