Goat of the Month - Mollie

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Goat Management > Breeding Doeling to Father?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
ETgoatygirl

Liked 41 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Breeding Doeling to Father?

Hi everyone! I have a question for all of you goat breeders out there.. Have you ever bred a doe to her father? It sounds like it could definitely cause problems to me, if one wasn't careful. But I'm no expert I'm a little hesitant to do it. Here is my dilemma, I have one doeling who I would rather breed to someone other than her father. The doelings father is "boarding" with all of my other girls at my home. It just seems so much simpler just to use the buck I have here than to go bring another buck back here for a month and put him and my one doeling in a seperate pen. But I do want to do what's best for my goats. Is this father to daughter breeding a bad thing? I would only like to breed them together this once (as next year she should be big enough to breed to a very nice neighborhood buck). I just really don't want to end up with babies coming out with three heads, etc. Thank you!

~Emma~

4 Heart Farm

http://www.4heartfarm.weebly.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 02:56 AM   #2
goathiker
I'm watching you
TGS_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 6807 Times on 3731 Posts
Likes Given: 735