You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of The Goat Spot    

Goats of the Month - Pumpkin Pie

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Goat Management > goats dieing/kidding complications HELP

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2014, 04:23 AM   #1
312InchMagnum

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default goats dieing/kidding complications HELP

first off i am new to raising goats..we had 5 pygmies...2 males/3 females...all different bloodlines...well ive lost 2 does and at least 2 kids in the last month...they are over a year old...

i know the first mistake i made was not keeping the bucks/does separated early...i was advised that it didnt matter...well known breeder i got a couple from said she has never kept her separated and never had isses...well,now i know...i should have kept them separated so i could have at least known how far along they were

here is the story...had a smaller doe i knew was pregnant...knew she was close, but not sure how close...kept a close eye on her...she is really small, so i had been worried about her...went to check on them one evening and 2 kids were dead...looked like they still had quite a bit of mucous on them....i assume they died during birth...she was ok...i could tell she was pretty run down, but she was eating good...1 week later found the doe dead...i assume she maybe had some internal damage...