Goats of the Month - Peanut & Puddles

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Goat Management > how cold is too cold

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2011, 11:02 PM   #1
goatshows

Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default how cold is too cold

How cold is too cold for goats to handle? at what temp do you put coats on your goats?

Rebecca
Rebeka Acres

http://www.freewebs.com/rebekaacres

We have many 2014 doelings for sale and taking reservations on 2015 breedings!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2011, 11:18 PM   #2
Breezy-Trail

Liked 32 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default Re: how cold is too cold

I raise full size dairy goats, I am no expert.
This is just what I will be doing-
If it is freezing (less than 32) I will only let then out for 2-4 hrs (or whenever they have no more interest in the outdoors). If its warmer they will have access to the outside.
If its colder than 20 during the day I won't let them out, unless they have been inside for a while of which they might only be out long enough for me to clean out.

I don't plan on using coats. I am going to make some kid coats off of 2 lamb fleeces and one that I will be getting soon (table food). I will use leather string to tie it around them if it is still cold in Feb (when my does will kid). That way the little kids could stay warm with minimal use of a heat lamp.

~Jesse
Breezy Trail Dairy Goats
www.breezytrail.weebly.com
http://www.facebook.com/Breezytraildairygoats
^^Like us on Facebook!! ^^
Raising Registered American Alpines and PB LaManchas.

.Philippians 4:13
I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.

Old 10-27-2011, 11:31 PM   #3
cdtrum

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts