Goats of the Month - Peanut & Puddles

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Beginners Goat Raising > Dam raise VS bottle raise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2013, 08:26 PM   #1
HarmonyLane
Harmony Lane

Liked 7 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Dam raise VS bottle raise

I am new to goats....7 months into it but have started with 6 very nice does. 3 LaMancha's and 3 Alpines. I am leaning towards Dam raising, putting the kids up at night and milking only in the mornings. I plan to use the milk for personal/family use and make a little cheese and soap. I understand all about the CAE prevention and my Does have come from CAE free breeders (only 2 breeders). I plan to test for CAE each year and I plan to show. How many people show and Dam raise and is it working for you? any problems with does ramming the kids to death (like I have heard)? any advise on this subject would be appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2013, 08:37 PM   #2
nancy d
TGS_MODERATOR.png

Liked 4149 Times on 2719 Posts
Likes Given: 3478

Everyone has their own preference re: dam or bottle raised for their own reasons.
Our dam fed kids are just as friendly as any bottle kid minus the obnoxiousness.
As for ramming, do you mean inutero or after kids are born?
No one has ever hurt someone else's kid.
In almost 8 years only one abortion from being repeatedly rammed against a bldg by a herd queen.
It came back to bite her in the behind, she hasn't settled since.

Last edited by nancy d; 11-13-2013 at 08:43 PM.
People Like This 
Old 11-13-2013, 08:40 PM   #3
J.O.Y. Farm
~Crazy Goat Lady~

Liked 8251 Times on 5767 Posts
Likes Given: 4603

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarmonyLane View Post