Goats of the Month - Peanut & Puddles

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Beginners Goat Raising > Queen(?) goat is mean to other goats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 03:14 AM   #1
Conny

Liked 19 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Queen(?) goat is mean to other goats.

I am new to goats. While I realize that there is a pecking order to goats, I'm concerned that the queen of my herd is overly mean to the other goats.
The queen is Pippy, she is full blooded nubian and around 200 lbs, so I think she's queen just by default because of her size. The two that she is mean to are lamanchas and smaller then her. She's really very good with the three kidlings. I have the general head butting and the standing up intimidation, Pippy rubbing on the girls. The two does squat and p, I think to show that they know she's queen.
Pippy goes into what I can only describe as acting like a buck. Curling her nose, baaaa'ing like a buck does, stomping one foot at which ever girl she's chosen to pick on. Again this is probably normal behavior?
THe bad part is when she decides its a day to continually knock them down, repeat pushing then ram them down again. This will go on and on til the does hide in the goat houses n not come out. Will this eventually pass? How do I make it easier on the other does?
Any ideas?

thanks

Girls that stare @ Goats backsides! :eek:

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2013, 04:05 AM   #2
MsScamp

Liked 2718 Times on 1808 Posts
Likes Given: 939

Send a message via Skype™ to MsScamp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conny View Post
I have the general head butting and the standing up intimidation,

This could be play. It's hard to tell without actually seeing them, though.

Pippy rubbing on the girls. The two does squat and p, I think to show that they know she's queen.

Again, that's hard to say since does normally squat to urinate.