You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of The Goat Spot    

The Goat Spot - Goat Forum > Goat discussion forums > Health & Wellness > Parasites >

Parasitology Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2017, 05:12 PM   #1
clingenpeel

Liked 41 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Parasitology Questions

So I want to become a self taught parasitologist (in jest ). In all seriousness I do want to purchase a microscope and start doing my own fecals like so many goat herders who have come before me.

I do have a couple questions before I get started.

1) Should I purchase one of the many books on parasitology or are there adequate resources on the World Wide Web to help identify the different eggs and whatnot? And the obvious second part to this question is what books or websites do you recommend.

2) For those of you who have taken this step are you glad you did or did it turn out to be more difficult than you anticipated or maybe just too time consuming to be worth your while?

3) Not a question but would just like to open the floor for any general tips or advice for a beginner in this realm.

Some general info about myself and my herd, I've been raising boer goats for about five years and typically have about twenty goats on hand.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2017, 05:30 PM   #2
ksalvagno
TGS_MODERATOR.png

Liked 16839 Times on 12404 Posts
Likes Given: 2436

Fiasco Farms has good info on doing your own fecals.

Old 06-19-2017, 11:20 PM   #3
Donkeylover

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I'm wondering too

Old 06-20-2017, 03:17 AM   #4
jschies

Liked 245 Times on 186 Posts

1. I don't know if you need to buy a book. There are lots of resources on the internet.