Black mastitis?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Kupla, Feb 17, 2017.

1. Kupla

Kupla New Member

Aug 1, 2014
    Hello everyone. This is my first time dealing with Mastitis and I'm very worried that my doe has black mastitis after reading about it.

A little background information. Blon, my doe, bagged up really early in her pregnancy and I'm now thinking I should have milked her out and just saved the colostrum. She gave birth on February 1st. On the 2nd she had what I thought was just a really congested udder so I started hot compresses and massage while trying to milk her out. On the 3rd I started to get clots and blood so I did the soap test, it was positive so I went to the vet and she gave me a three day course of antibiotics and Dexamethasone. Blon's udder had a spot that I thought was just bruising at first but I know know it's a big patch of dead tissue. She also has a large hard mass inside the udder and I don't know if I should be trying to break that up or if it's just dead udder that I need to leave alone.

She's not as active as she normally is but she walks around to eat fallen leaves and still has an appetite. I've been dosing her with Nutridrench and Probiotics for a few days, and she has electrolyte water if she wants it.

Should I have that section of udder removed? Am I correct in thinking that she shouldn't be bred again even if the bad section of udder is removed? She's the best doe out of my herd, last year as a FF she was giving over a gallon of milk per day, has a sweet personality and really nice conformation. However, if it's not safe to ever breed her again I won't do it. Thanks in advance for reading all of this and for any advice you might have.

Attached Files:

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

Get her to the vet asap.

3. Kupla

Kupla New Member

Aug 1, 2014
    Ok. I showed the vet the pictures and she didn't seem concerned, just said it didn't look like it was going to rupture.

4. toth boer goats