Bottle baby - help

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by WDFhaflinger, Feb 16, 2017.

1. WDFhaflinger

WDFhaflinger New Member

Feb 16, 2017
    Hey,
    I am fairly new to goats and just received my first bottle baby. He was born on the 5th of February, so he is around 11 days old. I am not sure if he received any colostrum from his mother before they took him away. He is not eating real good and seems lethargic. I am going to get some Probios for him this afternoon. Is he too young to give a Vitamin B1 (thiamine) shot to? What else should I be doing? As far as I know, he has not received any vaccinations or dewormer.
    We are getting an ounce of whole cows milk in him every 4-5 hours. He has a little bit of diarrhea, and we gave him a dose of pepto. Help, I will be so sad if we lose him.

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

What is his temp? Was he already on the bottle when you got him?

3. jschies

jschies Member

Aug 14, 2014
    Why are you only getting an ounce into him at a time? Is it because he seems hungry, but won't suck? Will he try at all? Had he been taking more and just stopped? If he was eating more and stopped trying to suck, think about floppy kid syndrome.

4. SalteyLove

SalteyLove New Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    Weight? Rectal Temperature?

How much and what was he being fed until this point?

What is the poop like? Color/consistency? Kid milk poops should be fairly bright yellow and pretty soft.

Are you feeding the milk at 100* F? What type of bottle & nipple are you using?

Can you post a photo of the whole kid standing up? Does he do any bouncing or playing?

5. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    Pinnacle, NC
    Are you using the same kind of milk as the breeder was?

Is he your only goat?

You can give him a B complex shot.

6. WDFhaflinger

WDFhaflinger New Member

Feb 16, 2017