CDT vaccine...how often?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Lucky_072508, Dec 3, 2011.

1. Lucky_072508

Lucky_072508 New Member

Jul 22, 2011
    I am new to goats and i'm wondering about CDT vaccines. Sully is my oldest--he was born 6-11-11. He had his first CDT the day before i got him, on July 20th. Jakey is my baby, born on 8-13-11. I got him in October and he had his first CDT on the same day Sully had his second one--4 days ago. Both of them did great. My dad gave them their shots and i got the job of holding the goats (needles make me pass out so it could have been a disaster lol). Now that i realize that shots are more help than they are an extremely traumatic experience, i want to keep them on a schedule. Can someone help me set up that schedule? Thanks!

2. liz

liz New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    The first CD/T injection should always be followed with a booster injection 21 days later....same dose for all too...2cc, since your boys waited longer between the first and the booster, they should have the shot just given to them considered as the first dose....follow with the 2nd in 21 days and give another single dose a year from the second and yearly after that.

3. Rogersfarm

Rogersfarm New Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    Just wandering.............. if you purchase a goat and they dont have the CDT would it be to late to give it to them at one year old?

4. Burns Branch Boers

Burns Branch Boers New Member

Apr 10, 2011
    North Texas
    nope you can begin giving it to them no matter how old they are BUT like Liz said the very first injection they ever get needs to be followed 21 days later by a booster injection (the same shot/same dose) to make sure the immunity "registers" then every year after give it to them 1 time a year.

Each and EVERY goat that I get/own gets the colorado serum brand CD/T and a pneumonia vaccination with a booster. Then I give them the yearly injections in April.