Dam raise VS bottle raise

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by HarmonyLane, Nov 13, 2013.

1. HarmonyLane

HarmonyLane Harmony Lane

May 21, 2013
    Tennessee
    I am new to goats....7 months into it but have started with 6 very nice does. 3 LaMancha's and 3 Alpines. I am leaning towards Dam raising, putting the kids up at night and milking only in the mornings. I plan to use the milk for personal/family use and make a little cheese and soap. I understand all about the CAE prevention and my Does have come from CAE free breeders (only 2 breeders). I plan to test for CAE each year and I plan to show. How many people show and Dam raise and is it working for you? any problems with does ramming the kids to death (like I have heard)? any advise on this subject would be appreciated. :help:

2. nancy d

nancy d Moderator

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    Everyone has their own preference re: dam or bottle raised for their own reasons.
    Our dam fed kids are just as friendly as any bottle kid minus the obnoxiousness.
    As for ramming, do you mean inutero or after kids are born?
    No one has ever hurt someone else's kid.
    In almost 8 years only one abortion from being repeatedly rammed against a bldg by a herd queen.
    It came back to bite her in the behind, she hasn't settled since.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

3. J.O.Y. Farm

J.O.Y. Farm ~Crazy Goat Lady~

Jan 10, 2012
    New Hampshire
    I dam raise and have had no problems.. This far.. I love my dam raised kids :) not so pushy and in your face like bottle kids lol!
    I let mom and kids stay together day and night for two weeks.. At one week I start milking in the am.. Though they are still with mom so it's not much... But it's mostly to get my FFs used to being milked.. Then start a full fill at two weeks.. Then wean at 8-9 weeks..

Any other things you would like to know? Sorry, I know I am missing stuff.. It's been a long day lol

4. HarmonyLane

HarmonyLane Harmony Lane

May 21, 2013