goats dieing/kidding complications HELP

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by 312InchMagnum, Feb 28, 2014.

1. 312InchMagnum

312InchMagnum New Member

Feb 9, 2013
    first off i am new to raising goats..we had 5 pygmies...2 males/3 females...all different bloodlines...well ive lost 2 does and at least 2 kids in the last month...they are over a year old...

i know the first mistake i made was not keeping the bucks/does separated early...i was advised that it didnt matter...well known breeder i got a couple from said she has never kept her separated and never had isses...well,now i know...i should have kept them separated so i could have at least known how far along they were

here is the story...had a smaller doe i knew was pregnant...knew she was close, but not sure how close...kept a close eye on her...she is really small, so i had been worried about her...went to check on them one evening and 2 kids were dead...looked like they still had quite a bit of mucous on them....i assume they died during birth...she was ok...i could tell she was pretty run down, but she was eating good...1 week later found the doe dead...i assume she maybe had some internal damage...

next...decently bigger doe i knew was pregnant, noticed her "private" was larger than i remember about a month ago, so i figured she was close...was checking on her like crazy every day...never anything...well i had a pretty busy day today, wife is out of town, just went to check on them when i got home and found her dead laying down...turned her over and saw the "white stringy" mucous at her private...looks like she didnt even get to pass the mucous plug and died...i had high hopes for her as she was much bigger than the other that died...not even sure there would have been much i could have done if i was there as she didnt even get far along in labor...