Help! Baby rabbits and I have no idea what to do!

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Suzanne_Tyler, May 19, 2017.

1. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    Pinnacle, NC
    Long story short we now have two wild baby rabbits that don't have a mother. Eyes are open, they are pretty furry, but they are really small.

I'm guessing they still need milk? Is goat milk ok?

What about feed and water?

Do they have to be a certain temperature?

I'm planning to put them in a plastic storage bin with shavings. In the house. Would that work?

Anything else I need to know? I literally know nothing about rabbits so all advice is welcome!

TIA. Photos soon :)

2. Suzanne_Tyler

Jul 19, 2014
    Pinnacle, NC
    One weighs 80 grams and the other weighs 100 grams.

Attached Files:

3. spidy1

spidy1 Well-Known Member

Jan 9, 2014
    AZ
    Ok, I have lots of experience with rabbits, unfortunately, there is a 99.999999 percent chance of the babies not surviving if they are still needing milk, goat milk, cow milk, replacers, or any milk we humans can get will not work, they need rabbit milk, you can try to give them hay and keep them in a warm, safe, quiet place and see if they can survive, you can also try to give them probiotics, as there digestive systems are similar to goats. good luck, I have never had any with wild bunnies, but I hope yours do ok.
    water in a dish only, it will stress them if you use a licker.
    I can answer any other questions you have as well.

Last edited: May 19, 2017
  4. cheyenne

cheyenne Junior Member

Aug 20, 2011
    MO
    Try to find a wildlife rehab... you can Google it for your area. Are you certain that they are orphans? A mother wild rabbit only visits the nest 2 times a day, usually early in the morning and late in the evening. You won't see her around the nest any other time. How did you find them?

5. Suzanne_Tyler

Jul 19, 2014
    Pinnacle, NC