How do you keep your records?

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Dreamchaser, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Dreamchaser

Dreamchaser New Member

Oct 29, 2008
    Camp Verde, AZ
    Not sure if I posted this in the right spot...

How do you keep your records. Do you buy a book, notebook, do you simply marks stuff on a calendar for goat-keeping? What do you do?

Thanks!

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    on the computer in a spreadsheet -- hard copies printed off of that and I write stuff down in a goat journal

3. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    In my "herd book""

Has a doe section

The Registration paper is first, then a sheet with a table on hoof trimming records, and vaccinations
    then the next sheet has a table with worming records and then a table with "illness"

The illness has columns for symptoms, treatment, if it worked and how long it took, and date resolved

This Is my first year keeping this kind of record, works good so far, but I may invest in a white board or a chalk board in the hay shed to record hoof trimming so I dont have to write in the book each time, and just write it down every month or so.

4. farmergal

farmergal New Member

Jun 19, 2009
    Northern California
    I am not very good at keeping detailed records, most things I (heats, breed dates, vaccinations, etc.) just go in our calendar on the wall.

5. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    I write most stuff on the calender. The later on I transfer it all over to each goats individual sheet I keep with their registration papers.

6. elchivito

elchivito Member

Apr 18, 2010
    I keep all my records in my head.........

what was the question??

7. nancy d

nancy d Moderator

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    I write it on the calender and transer info to "Barn Records" which is a regular notebook.