My goat is missing hair on his nose

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by firegurl126, May 8, 2010.

1. firegurl126

firegurl126 New Member

Feb 19, 2010
    I have a 5 year old weather that is missing a good amount of hair on his nose. He is about 100#. From what I have read it seems that he is not getting enough copper. I was wondering if there was anyway to get him more copper with out having to bolus him. I have never done it before and would rather mix something in his food. He is UTD on worming and shots. He or his brother will not eat loose minerals. So every other day I have to shread carrots and mix the minerals in. Trust me I have tried everything to get them to eat minerals. Thanks for your help!
    :hair:

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    corning california
    Do you feed grain...? Goats love grain.... mix in the loose salt and minerals... that has the copper in it .......don't put to much in at first... it is so ...they won't notice it ....after a while ...slightly increase the loose salt and minerals ..... eventually.... they may get a taste for it and may start eating it free choice.... good luck... :wink: :thumb:

3. firegurl126

firegurl126 New Member

Feb 19, 2010
    I do not feed grain as they are weathers and grain is not good for them. That is why I mix the monerals with the carrots.

4. toth boer goats

Jul 20, 2008
    corning california
    He is 5 years old...? are you planning on butchering him.... he is older than I'd butcher.... :wink:

Maybe... make a hole in a marshmallow and put some loose salt and minerals in there.. open the mouth and let them get a taste of the mellow ...then they should eat it down wanting more.... :wink: :greengrin:

5. firegurl126

firegurl126 New Member

Feb 19, 2010
    No he is a PET!!

And he is already getting minerals every other day mixed with the carrots. I am not looking for a way to give him minerals. I am looking for a way to get more copper into him.