Newbie Momma in need of guidance...

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by KidaleeIvy2, Mar 20, 2017.

1. KidaleeIvy2

KidaleeIvy2 New Member

Mar 20, 2017
    Hi everyone!

I'm new to raising goats and I'm looking for a little guidance. I brought home my new baby on Friday (3/17/17), his name is Jimmie.

He is about 3-4 weeks old. He refuses to drink from a bottle and prefers to drink from a bowl. I've been giving him replacer formula, but he will only drink a little over 8 ounces. He is also eating some sweet grain, and drinking water. He's been grinding his teeth since I've brought him home, which I thought was cud chewing, but after some research I'm concerned. Now, today he has a little bit of diarrhea. He screams when he can't see me, and is only at ease when I hold him... He has an appointment at the vet on Thursday morning...any advice? Should I be worried? I am so scared he is sick and won't recover :tears:

Leren

2. anawhitfield

anawhitfield Member

Jun 8, 2013
    Buford, Georgia
    Sound like he was raised with cats or dogs because he eats/drinks like them. But I wouldn't worry about HOW he eats, as long as he eats.
    The grain could be what is causing the diarrhea, so I would back off on that and stick with the milk (I give mine regular store-bought whole milk) and plenty of grass and hay. The grass and hay will help teach his rumen how to work like a goat... since it apparently thinks he's a cat or dog.
    Another possibility for the diarrhea could be intestinal parasites which is quite common in goats and it can be easily treated with de-worming meds.
    Find out how much he weighs (here are instructions how to https://fiascofarm.com/goats/weight-chart.htm) and then look at this feeding chart to determine if he is eating enough or not.
    I'm sure he will do just fine once he starts to eating like a goat. By the way, I saw this goat who was clucking like a chicken because he grew up with chickens and he thought he was a chicken.