Waiting for baby potbellies

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Dyana, Feb 11, 2017.

1. Dyana

Dyana New Member

Mar 16, 2014
    Chandler, AZ
    I am helping a friend out with her 2 potbelly pigs . She just moved and doesn't have a place for her pigs to have their babies. They have lived only on pasture and when I picked them up on Wednesday I asked what she feeds them and she said grass.
    They look so skinny to me (except their big pregnant bellies). I can see their hip bones and ribcage. So now they are at my house and I started feeling them mini pig food along with alfalfa.
    They are due any day and this is my first time with farrowing or keeping potbellies. Any advice would be appreciated.
    ImageUploadedByGoat Forum1486870649.123175.jpg ImageUploadedByGoat Forum1486870680.266850.jpg
    The first pic is Babe and the second one is Willie.

2. MylieD

MylieD New Member

Sep 16, 2013
    middle GA
    Those pigs are extremely underweight. I'm surprised they kep the pregnancy. Just slowly keep upping their food. They can eat fruits, veggies, eggs, dairy, and hay too. Pretty much any unprocessed leftovers you have. But not too much at once since they aren't used to eating much. Crazy your friend thought potbellies could survive on grass. You can get them pig vitamins too. They look due soon so you will probably have to suppliment the babies. Nursing drains the mama pigs. Just make sure they get colostrum, then you can sell the babies as bottle babies or try to pan feed them goat milk. There's no way I'd give them back. They are very neglected.

3. Dyana

Dyana New Member

Mar 16, 2014
    Chandler, AZ
    My sister told me not to give them back when She saw the pics. They are very sweet girls. They just had babies in September. They had 9 each. I gave her info for a vet to get her male neutered but she hasn't done it.
    I've been hesitant about giving them too much since they haven't had other food besides grass. I'll look for some pig vitamins.