weak rubber back legs

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Jessica84, Jan 28, 2012.

1. Jessica84

Jessica84 Active Member

Oct 27, 2011
    California
    This is not one of my goats, so doesnt realy need a right away answer.......
    so I have nothing better to do on most saturdays so went to the sale, a group of goats, full grown does came in, they were thin and had weak, rubber back legs, and some it looked like the joints in the hips were not working right. I was just wondering what would cause the whole group to have this?

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    sounds like a Selenium/Vit E deficiency, it causes weak muscles/bones. If the area you're in is Deficient, vaccinate the goats with Bo-Se a RX drug

3. crgoats

crgoats New Member

Nov 7, 2011
    Belton, Missouri
    Were they fainting goats? The reason I ask is because sometimes my fainting goats faint while standing and their back legs stop working. I am pretty new to this, so I was just wondering.

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    corning california
    Could be Polio ... did they eat any moldy hay?

Thiamine needs to be given... or if at least ...they need vitB complex.. that is better than nothing.. in case it is Polio.... :hug:

5. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    They aren't Jessica's goats, Pam...they were at the sale she went to...luckily. ;)

I wonder if they weren't there because the owner didn't know how to treat them? That's to bad. :(

6. toth boer goats

Jul 20, 2008
    corning california
    Thanks Kylee... it could be ...you never know.... it is sad... :(

7. Jessica84

Jessica84 Active Member

Oct 27, 2011
    California
    Im sure they were there for that reason, I have just never seen that before so got me thinking what it could be. They looked bright eyed, skinny but not deathly skinny.And I dont think they were fainting goats or Im sure they would have fainted in the ring.