white bumps around nose and mouth

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by janemak, Jun 19, 2010.

1. janemak

janemak New Member

Hi There, My 4 yr old Anglo numbian has developed white hard bumps on his nose and mouth. He doesnt appear to be ill as he is still eating, i have had him him for one month. I only have two of them and i am new to goat keeping. Could anyone advise me on what it might be please. :help:

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    could it possibly sour mouth developing? where did you purchase him from?

3. janemak

janemak New Member

Its rather unusual, they were living on a small farm in Guernsey, but where much loved pets and well cared for. They are nuetured males.

4. I would have to agree, are these pets?

5. DPW

DPW New Member

Mar 13, 2010
    Crow, Oregon.
    Until you find out if it is sore mouth or not be sure to wear gloves when handling your goats. Sore mouth is a viral disease which is contagious to humans as well as your other goat.
    If you haven't done so already seperate him from the other.
    Not much you can do if it is sore mouth. You can put some antibacterial ointment on the sores but it pretty much has to run it's course. I read it takes 2-3 weeks.

6. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    Put neosporin or equivalent, (not sure what they have in your area!) on daily, wear gloves sore mouth is very contagious, also separate the affected goat into a separate pen where he can't touch the others. good luck! It should clear up a week or two. I've also read genetian violet cures sore mouth

7. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    corning california
    Everyone has great advice.... :thumb: