The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all :)
I Am new to goats. We rather abruptly got 2 new young goats ( prob 2-3 months old) they are not related to each other-unfortunately we have had many animals just not goats. So it’s a fast and furious learning curve. One was bottlefed and loves people and being petted. The other is smaller and not bottlefed and is standoffish. She runs away but will finally eat out of my hand . Still skittish tho. How do you do it if you need to go away for a few days? Can you put the food out or are they like swine, and they will eat it all. Almost the entire time one or the other has had scours. The feed I got is like a sweet feed. Is pellets or sweet feed preferred? They seem to be getting dependent and waiting for the grain. I’m giving about a cup each plus some minerals. I also gave probiotics and prairie pride dewormer due to the scours-but trying to make sure they eat only theirs is near impossible :p nd if I separate them the little one stops,eating. I’m just putting it in and hoping for the best. They are wasting a lot of hay so I’m trying to figure it out. I wouldn’t worry but I’m not sure how good my grazing is. It is a mixture of grass and weeds. They seem to get bored with grazing and just lay down near the hay and nibble. They graze but are more interested in the grain. Is that normal? Thanks so much!

·
Registered
64 Posts
Scours needs to be dealt wth quickly. It will kill your goats. What sort of goats are they? They will kill themselves with grain if allowed, bloat. It is a horrible death, just sayin.

Being new to your place, they should be Getting little grain.
They need hay (roughage) fresh water, even warm (they'll drink more). Loose minerals for goats, you have to give just enough for a day. If it's damp or wet, they won't eat it. Probios (tube paste it's metered). Baking soda as well free choice. They will lick what they need.