The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
Thank you for your help. I have 2 sets of triplets 4 days apart (and I'm a beginner and didn't know I bought pregnant goats...nice). My Boer had triplets 4 days ago. She is rejecting the boy. Also, the mother only has one teat, but she seems to be doing fine nursing the 2 girls.

2 questions: What do I feed the rejected? I bought kid replacement milk at Tractor Supply, then read 2 websites that said NOT to feed the kids that. Why would they sell something that is dangerous? (That's not my 2nd question). Should I use whole cow milk instead?

2nd question is where to house the rejected baby. He's with his mother and sisters, but the mother is really rough with him and I'm afraid for his life. I have another mother with week-old triplet and although she's not as rough with him, she doesn't want him around. The other 3 older goats are also rough with him. I don't want him to be lonely. What do I do?

Thanks - I'm desperate and worried!

PS. No luck getting him to take the bottle.

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Karen,
Thank you for answering. He is the only one of the 6 who is rejected. The other triplets are nursing fine and this mother with one teat is nursing 2 and rejected this one. I have been reading to bottle feed the rejected but keep him with his siblings and mother. I'm worried the mother will hurt him. Because he tries to nurse, she throws him in the air and even threw him into a wall. She also nips and bites him. He is successful at "stealing" some milk from her from behind, so I don't think he is deterred. She has actually tolerated him a few times nursing, but it is short-lived and then the roughing begins.

· Registered
768 Posts