3 day old baby very congested!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by sixshooterfarm, Aug 29, 2008.

1. sixshooterfarm

sixshooterfarm New Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Valley Springs, Ca
    I have a 3 day old little girl who has goopy eyes and is very very congested. You can see she does not feel very well. LA 200 or penn G? I need to get this before it takes her downhill.

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    does she have a high temp?

3. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Get a temp first, I've not ever used the la200, but have used the peng , is she eating? Try a bit of nutridrench too, it can't hurt.

4. crocee

crocee New Member

Jul 25, 2008
    Northeast Arkansas
    I can't offer any advice as I have no experience with sick babies. Luckily mine stayed healthy.
    Good luck with her and I hope she gets better.
    Andi

5. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I would use Pen G that should work.

6. capriola-nd

capriola-nd New Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Northwest Oregon
    Just curious why you say Pen-G? Is LA200 for respiratory? Can you not give it to a baby that young? Just curious. . . .

7. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I feel safer for a 3 day old baby giving the pen G as their bodies have not built up a resistance and Pen G is an broad spectram antibiotic. Yes LA 200 kicks butt faster and more effective in most cases but with the sting factor and how strong it is I just felt safer suggesting the Pen

8. crocee

crocee New Member

Jul 25, 2008
    Northeast Arkansas
    Biomycin is the non sting form of LA200. Tou can use that instead. Its availiable right next to the LA200 in the feed store.
    Andi

9. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    yes I am aware of that. But do to her post