3month old bottle feeding question

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by jessica_b, Nov 26, 2009.

1. jessica_b

jessica_b Guest

Nov 26, 2009
    Hello everyone :) I've just joined and am enjoying all these great threads, thanks! I'm Jess, and I'm in Tasmania, Australia :wave:

My question is probably straightforward, but I'd like to ask since I'm a total goat newbie...

I'm picking up two Australian Miniature does on Tuesday. They're 3 month old twins, and have been bottle fed. The breeder was going to wean them but I asked her to keep them on the bottle for me, as I feel they should feed for longer. They're having one feed a day at the moment. She's been feeding them with a cheap brand of powdered milk - the full cream human-use type, not a milk replacer, but I still think this is not a good milk for young goats. I'd like to switch them to fresh goats milk if I can get some, or fresh cows milk if I need to, but I don't want to upset their tummies...

What rate would you recommend switching the milks? I thought to add some of the goats milk to the powdered mix increasing a little each day. Also, how many feeds a day do you think they should be having? And should I add a little yoghurt to their milk as a probiotic? I'd like to offer them some horse & foal sweet feed as well, is it okay at this age?

Sorry for all these newbie questions, I'm sure I'll have more lol!

Thanks for your help :)
    Jess

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    welcome to The Goat Spot.

Really at 3 months they are perfectly fine to wean and do not need milk anymore.

I wouldnt go through the stress of changing their milk since they dont even need it.

3. jessica_b

jessica_b Guest

Nov 26, 2009
    Hi Stacey,

Thanks for replying :)