6 week old blind pygmy

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by BanditMan, Sep 5, 2017.

1. BanditMan

BanditMan New Member

Sep 5, 2017
    Hey yall, glad to be a part of these forums. I am brand new to the goating world and wanted goats since I was real young. My wife and I just bought our first home with a little over 2.5 acres and a goat barn in the back. We just came across herd of beautiful pygmy's 6-7 weeks old. She had 2 females rest males. We wanted the one female she had but there was a contingency. The other female was blind and had to go with her b/c she (the not blind girl) called her over when time to feed and play. It was amazing to watch!! So we could not say no.
    Question is: Does anyone have any ideas to find out cause of blindness? I looked into her eyes and her lashes seem to be fine and the breeder said she was born that way. The other kids were ok. Anybody have any ideas what to do next?

capracreek likes this.
  2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

I'd have a vet look her over. There could be so many causes it is hard to say.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    How does the eye itself look? Any cloudiness? Ulcers?
    Pinkeye?
    Does she squint the eye's or have them opened naturally?

Any reaction to your finger or hand coming close to the eye, a reaction? Response to light?

Glad you checked for inverted eyelid.

I do agree, a vet needs to determine the cause.
    Sometimes it is unknown too.
    Congenital, at birth cataracts are permanent damage and can cause irreversible blindness.
    A skilled veterinarian may be able to do surgery to remove the damaged lens in the eye's to improve vision, but very expensive.

Polio causes blindness, but doesn't sound like it is as it has been going on for a long time and no circling ect signs right?

If the other goat is it's eye's, that is a special goat too.
    So sweet of you to take them both in.