A NEW KID IN FARM NEEDS HELP

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by carmen escamilla, Jul 29, 2010.

1. carmen escamilla

carmen escamilla New Member

Jul 23, 2010
    texas
    HI I AM NEW TO THE GOAT SPOT IM GLAD TO JOIN IN CAUSE I LEARN SO MUCH FROM ALL THE INFO U PPL CAN GIVE ME BUT I HAVE ONE QUESTION THAT I HAVE NOT SEEN HERE OR MAYBE I MISS IT BUT I WOULD LIKE TO ASK I HAVE ONE NEW BILLY THAT PURCHASE FROM A LIVE STOCK AUCTION HE LOOKS LIKE HE IS 3 MONTHS OLD AND HE KEEPS TO HIM SELVE ALL THE TIME STANDS BY THE WALL AND WONT COME OUT DOES THIS MEAN HE IS SICK OR JUST DOESNT NOT LIKE TO BE HERE OR COUNDT BE HE IS SHY I DONT KNOW PLEASE HELP ME I WOULD LIKE TO HELP HIM THAT POOR BABY,,,I HAVE HAD HIM FOR 4 DAYS NOW, KEEP IN MIND HE DOES EAT AND DRINK WELL ..

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    awe poor thing - he is probably missing his mom.

I would check his temp though - a goats normal temp is 101-103 if its higher or lower then that he needs help asap.

What is he eating? hay or grain? How much do you know?

Do you have other goats? is he penned with them or near them?

3. glenolam

glenolam New Member

Jul 20, 2010
    Canterbury, CT
    Welcome! Is he wethered or intact? If he's intact - do you have him by himself so he doesn't try to breed anyone?

Does he play with you or anyone? Has he been treated for coccidia? Keep in mind that kids who have coccidia will still eat and drink as the parasites feed off him, which would make him hungry still.

4. Lexibot

Lexibot New Member

Jul 27, 2010
    Missouri
    Well, all I can say is he might be lonely. Most of my animals I have gotten have been in a group, so they normally already have buddies. I just got one recently by herself, she took off REALLY well with the herd, though. She's 6months, maybe age takes factor.

5. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California