The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a 3 month old doeling that I've had since she was 6 weeks.
Ever since I got her, I've noticed that when she plays on hard surfaces she seems to rock back on the heels of her front feet, and that the inside toes always seem a little rocked back. When she was little, I figured that she would grow out of it because we had a foal who did the same and he grew out of it by the time he was a weanling.
It doesn't seem to bother her one bit, she's a very vigorous and hardy girl, but it bothers the daylights out of me. I've tried trimming down the toes to encourage standing on them, but I'm not really an expert on hoof trimming.
None of my other goats have this, we are not in a selenium deficient area, I have two of her half siblings and am very familiar with her parents, both of which have normal hooves, although the Sire's are a little crooked.

I guess my questions are, will she ever grow out of it? And is it possibly selenium deficiency? How can I trim to help her?

I will try to post pics from my phone for you guys as soon as I figure it out.

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I trim them and no difference. She did have a bit of excess heel the first time I trimmed but not since then.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
**bump**

I'll also add that she's fed one cup of BOSS a day, free choice minerals, free choice horse quality hay, and pasture, if that helps any.

·
2,203 Posts
I'm kinda puzzled as well, you can see the beautiful straight growth rings. Only thing I could suggest is just keep trimming with the rings.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·