The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

· Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My sister in law had a doe that had unexpectedly had twins yesterday. The one twin passed today. The buckling was given to me tonight as she has no time to feed him. Mom refused both kids. They tried to hand milk the doe and she was dry. Her udder was just hard they said. Doe was too distressed and just wanted to get back to the others. So I have this buckling who was cold when I got him. I got him warmed up. His first bottle was 24 hours after birth. She gave him powdered kid colostrum and ate decent. I gave him his 2nd bottle. He didnt want to take it. I did get him dribble it down. This is my first attempt at bottle feeding a kid and read whole cows milk is better then the suppliment. Should I feed him the cows milk alone or mixed with the powdered colostrum? Should I add buttermilk, kayro syrup? He will stand but not walk around much at all. He acts like he is still trying to walk. He stands with his head down but can pick it up and look around. I think its weak kid syndrome. They said he was bouncing around and acting playful yesterday after birth. I am hoping to save this kids life and just wondering what I should do? He passed meconium and has peed a few times already.
TIA! Tori

· I'm watching you
22,734 Posts
The colostrum will do him no good now. He should have had it before 12 hours had passed. You will need to raise him as if he had none at all to be safe. Just feed him warm whole milk. Not a lot a time, about 3-4ozs every 4 hours for a start. Put a tiny pinch of soda in one bottle a day to help his tummy. If his sucking reflex is weak, he will need a Bo.Se shot. This is from a vet or breeder.