Abscess

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by imaginationacres, Jan 8, 2011.

1. imaginationacres

imaginationacres New Member

Sep 27, 2009
    Virginia
    Hi folks, hoping for some advice here!

I'm a vet tech at a small animal emergency clinic, I have done some CE's on goats but prefer to have my farm animal vet deal with any issues that pop up with my goaties since my background is mostly dogs, cats and rabbits. Anyways I have an almost 3 year old goat doe, Dixie who has developed a small abscess on her cheek (see photo below)

It is soft to the touch and is not hindering her ability to eat/drink. She would NOT let me look inside her mouth to see it on the inside.. but she doesn't mind me manipulating it externally.

All of my goats are due for their annual CAE, CL, Johnnes testing this month. I'm planning on calling my large animal vet on Monday to have her come out and take a look. The abscess does not feel like its going to burst, it appeared suddenly within the last 24-48 hours. My main concern is for CL, she was CL negative last January. I know that CL abscesses are usually in lymph nodes, this one is in her cheek area, any thoughts, maybe the salivary gland?

I don't know how soon my large animal vet can come out so I'm considering taking her to my work at the ER clinic tonight for lancing the abscess/collecting fluid for CL culture. Any input is appreciated. Thanks!!

[​IMG]

I'm not planning to isolate her unless the abscess is drained/lanced since she is a very sensitive goat and gets very distressed/depressed when separated from the herd.

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    It may be food in her cheek ....or may be A tooth abscess...

Cheek Abscesses sometimes occur when ...the goat bites the inside of its own cheek ...where the upper and lower molars meet...

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA