ADGA, how do you figure out what you've got?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Dreamchaser, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Dreamchaser

Dreamchaser New Member

Oct 29, 2008
    Camp Verde, AZ
    Here are the lines of the Alpine goat in question:
    SIRE: Too Sharp Armani Willow
    DAM: Pearl Valley Mandolyn Melody

So how do you figure out if if these are good bloodlines? And what then? How do you name the babies? *head spins*

I'm very new to this stuff... I hope to one day build my herd.

And how do you find out if a goat you have is registered if it didn't come with papers? I imagine the other doe I have passed through a few hands before I got her.

2. Thanatos

Thanatos New Member

Mar 16, 2009
    Lake Ariel, Pa
    I hate to say it, but no papers not registered. and no way to register unless you can track the papers down.
    as for blood line info when you get papers the animals regi# is used to then track the bloodline on the adga site.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    You can name them anything you want to registered or not......it doesn't have to pertain to the parents of the goat... :wink:

Look in her ears and see if there is a tattoo in it .....if she was ever registered,,,,there should be tattoo's ...one is the herd name....to track down the original registration owner....if she doesn't have tattoo's...... then she is most likely never been.....also if she has a scrapie tag in her ear ...you can track down one of her previous owners that had to tag her to sell her at an auction or private selling her unregistered..........it will have a herd number...on it..

Or if you can track her history back to the breeder....the person you bought her from....the person before that and so on...that gets difficult if she changed hands alot and remained unregistered..... :wink:

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ