Alpine Doe- Tattoos in ears/May also be prego

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by mhuckeba, Mar 3, 2011.

1. mhuckeba

mhuckeba New Member

Mar 3, 2011
    San Diego, CA
    Hello! My name is Mary and I wanted to ask you all some questions about my goat. I am very new to goats so here is what happened. I went to this guy who had a ton of goats of all breeds. I wanted either an Alpine or Nubian. So I went and got an Oberhasli girl, a Swiss boy, and I couldn't resist and got this little lamb girl. Well when I got home I realized they were ALL boys! The Oberhasli is a wether. So I called the guy. I liked the Oberhasli because I was looking for a pack goat and he seems to have a great "follow you around" attitude. So I was going to give him back the Swiss boy. About a week later, he ended up getting really sick and passed away. (FYI- I took them all to the vet and had meds for the Oberhasli and the Swiss) So the guy would not give me my money back so I had to do a credit thing. So I got an Alpine in milk. She was very very thin but she was the sweetest one he had. So now you have some background info on how I have gotten my goats (and a lesson learned). So I have been looking for a buck for my Alpine (Gretta). I know they are supposed to go into season in the fall so I wanted a head start. Well I was talking to this one breeder and she asked if she was tattooed. I looked and she is. So I was hoping you guys can help me find out what they mean and how I can maybe track down the breeder. The right ear is X20 the left ear is 0W4. I was told these are not a common sequence of numbers. Also, come to find out, the guy I got her from said he ran every all together, bucks, does, sheep, cows, etc. So now she may be prego. She has been on a grain for goats, an herbal dewormer, goat mineral from Purina, and an herbal supplement. She also has Alfalfa and grazes all day. I have been milking her because I thought I was supposed to and now I feel like I should dry her up in case s