Alpine goat's soles are white

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by ToriStewart, Feb 8, 2011.

1. ToriStewart

ToriStewart New Member

Feb 8, 2011
    Hi. I'm new to goats in general. We've had a couple in the past, but they've been more like brush control in a rocky pasture than a family pet. We purchased two bred registered alpine dairy goats back in November and for the first time, I had to think about things like hoof trimming and disbudding. I read information about hoof trimming, saw many pictures and watched a couple of YouTube videos, so I felt comfortably confident that I could do a decent job with some hands-on under my belt. The previous owner had just trimmed their feet in November when we got them, so they didn't need trimming until recently. I started to trim about a month ago and realized I'd need different tools, etc. So, little by little I've been taking small amounts off, until it occurred to me that one of my goat's feet (Feta) looked nothing at all like my other goat's feet (Brie). Feta's feet are quite mishapen. They don't look like a kid's feet at all. I feel sure that with some proper trimming, this can be fixed, but my main concern is that her soles are not soft and padded like every other goat's soles I've seen. They're not black/dark with the texture of calloused skin. When I take the brush to brush away the mud and manure on her soles, it comes off easily in one big piece, revealing a white pad that can be scraped away at. She acts like her feet are tender every time I touch them. She's very well handled and docile, but when I touch her feet she tries to nip me and pulls away constantly. It doesn't sound like foot scald/hoof rot, but I can't find anything on it either. Like I said, her soles are snow white and, like a moist callous, can be scraped away at. Any ideas? Is this just another version of goat's hooves? :whatgoat:

2. lissablack

lissablack New Member

Nov 30, 2009