Also, I have an abusive goat...

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by YasmineMay, Apr 7, 2018.

1. YasmineMay

YasmineMay New Member

Apr 5, 2018
    Hi all,
    I have two male wether pygmies and I love them to pieces.
    However, one of them constantly head butts (very hard) on the legs and knees if you dont give him attention.
    I had been given advice to tug his ear when he does something bad, apparently replicating what an elder goat will do to tell them off. I'm not sure if its true but it definitely doesn't work.
    I really need him to stop though as my dad has a fractured knee cap. If he headbutts my dad on his knee cap then prospects don't look good for either my dad or the goat.
    I'm still new to goat keeping and this is an issue that has progressed as he has got older. I don't know why he does it as my other goat has never butted me in his life! I have raised them both the same so I don't know why he does it.
    Please help me train him. Many thanks :)

2. TooManyBoers

TooManyBoers Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2017
    UK
    Whenever one of my bucks is naughty (or my does) I give them a light slap on the nose. Doesn’t do any damage but it stings, if you do that enough times they usually seem to learn not to do what they were doing wrong...

Of course, when my bucks are being naughty it’s usually because they’re challenging me for dominance and/or wanting to jump me, so they definitely needn’t to be taught a lesson quickly! XD

yankeedoodle and YasmineMay like this.

3. lifesabtchlearn2deal

lifesabtchlearn2deal Active Member

Mar 26, 2018
    I have one like that too. I've tried everything people have suggested. I even had to take a horse whip to him to get him off of my nephew one day. He finally backed off him but came after me. He's in a pen alone now. I have everything set up where I don't have to step foot in there unless something is wrong with him.

4. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine