Am I pro-life for goats?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Mandoziz, Aug 5, 2010.

1. Mandoziz

Mandoziz New Member

Aug 4, 2010
    I have a hard decision to make within the next six days. A lady I know is downsizing her herd and offered to give me one of her nubian does. I would offer her a nice pet home where she could retire from breeding (even though she's only 5). She was not bred at the time. We set up a time for delivery and then I got an email saying there was an unexpected issue. The doe went into heat and her Boer buck jumped his fence and bred her. :sigh: She would be due the end of December. I have no experience with breeding anything, or milking anything. I was told I could give her a shot of lutalyse on the 11th day after breeding to end the pregnancy.
    What would you all do?
    I did think I might breed her once at some time, but I really wanted full bred nubian kids not Boer/nubian crosses. Plus kids in December? December and January in Kansas is pretty rough. Can young survive very well? I just don't know what to do. Any of you have experience using lutalyse?
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    Assuming this doe is not a first timer herself she should kid fine with no issues.

What is your barn set up like? Can you close them in at night? if so then the kid/s should be fine even in the cold temps. Goats actually do pretty well in the cold - heat is harder on them.

As to using lutalyse - its up to you if you want to go that route or not.

Will this doe have a buddy or will she be by herself? goats need a goat companion they are herd animals

3. Polarhug

Polarhug New Member

Jul 1, 2010
    Southcentral Alaska
    I bet you wouldn't have any problems finding homes for the baby/babies, and I'm sure everyone on TGS could offer advice & help you with a winter kidding. Lots of people do winter kiddings.

4. nancy d