The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm kinda new to this group and not a goat expert, but I've been raising them for 13 yrs now. I know someone who just lost their two goats recently and they were only 11 months old. They died because the owners didn't know how to take care of them nor did they seek advice. They were just put out in the yard to eat grass with no wining or minerals and grain, nothing!!!!
I'm shocked reading emergancy all the time and mostly it is due to the owners carelessness or unwillingness to learn. I put 100% into everything I do, I would never have started raising goats without learning everything I possibly can first. I'm not writing this to offend anyone, I lost one of my old wethers thus August to old age...... I couldn't imagine not taking care of my animals the way they deserve. Most of the time it's not all that difficult and realize if with the best care things still happen. But if you educate yourself enough take good care of them they will usually thrive. To see so many problems with worms is troubling. Good clean housing proper nutrition and really observing them can go a long way.i only have a few goats as pets but the last 2 1/2 years I had to do nothing as far as worming besides having decals done. I recently felt u needed to worn because I brought a new goat home so to protect her and my others I did what was needed. I apologize I'm just venting I've seen to many goats die because people assume there goats they are hardy and can eat anything they are givin.

·
Registered
458 Posts