Anticipation killing me

Discussion in 'Waiting Room' started by Grnida, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Grnida

Grnida New Member

Sep 10, 2016
    I have a goat about to kid and I think the anticipation is going to kill me. This is my first time and I'm sure that's why. She's got the white and yellow mucus, soft tailbone area, lying down a lot, only sipping water, and won't eat. I've separated her from the pack and put her in the kidding pen. I'm hoping by the end of the day, hoping for the cooler part of the day, but not at night as I'd rather have some light to see by. However, I know animals are well-known for having kids/babies in the night. I think, hope, and pray I'm ready. I'm pretty sure we're having at least twins, could be triplets. She's got a big belly and she looks as miserable as I felt when I was in labor for both of my kids, and I had them one at a time and in separate pregnancies.

2. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    US
    They still drive me crazy with the waiting to kid bit. You are not alone ;) Have you read the does' code of honor?

3. Grnida

Grnida New Member

Sep 10, 2016
    No, I have not read the does' code of honor. Is that a book? Tell me more. I just started goats a year ago and I'm really excited about having my first kids. I've got nine goats. Started off with just doing dairy, but I got myself a cute little boer goat buck, full blooded, as well and decided he was a good deal. He needs a girlfriend, though, full blooded boer as well. He's only 9 months, but I know he's near ready. He's been trying to breed with the others, but they don't want him right now with the other big stud who's in the pen. All of my bucks are really gentle, which I like. I've got 3 bucks total, but two are young bucklings include this boer. The other buckling is a Nigerian who came with his mother, got them as a pair.