The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am completely new to goats. I bought 2 pygmies, Reba and her boyfriend( Elvis), in mid June. In June her babies were 4 months old so that would put her now about 6 or 7 months since her last kidding. She is definitely pregnant because she is huge, I can feel babies really well, and her bag is slowly filling up. I noticed her belly looks like it dropped and I can see her hip bones now. Her tail looks droopy as well. Any ideas on how much longer from this info and looking at the pics? I am about to burst from excitement and wanting to be here when it happens. It's so hard not having an exact due date. :/

Attachments

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Well she doesn't look super close to me. Generally, the udder will begin to fill around a month-month and a half before kidding. When it gets really full and tight and shiny, and you can no longer feel kids, then she would probably kid within twelve hours. :)

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Also I would look into seperating her and the buck (thus needing more goats ;) ) so she is not continually bred... After this kidding, I would give her at least a 1.5-2 year break to give her some time to recover from constantly having kids.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks y'all!! Definitely going to separate and give her a break. She has been having kids ever since she could for 5 years continuously. So she deserves a long break.

How much in advance, on average, does their girly parts become swollen before they're ready for labor?? I just went and checked her and she's starting to swell and I can see a little pink on the inside of her vaginal area.