The Goat Spot Forum banner

do these goats have high content spanish blood?

• yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • maybe

• no

• no, they are Aussie/cashmere

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to this forum so not sure whether to post this here or in fibre goats or elsewhere. I am thinking about purchasing a goat herd and would love to get some feedback.... Such as if they are really spanish.... And any comments on the goats.
I am fairly new to goats. I have a small trip of myotonics but am looking for a herd of breeding age does that I can breed my bucks to... After a few generations they can be considered myotonics as you can only find a few mature foes here and there.
I chose Spanish due to their hardiness and similar appearance to fainting goats. With the larger Spanish frame combined with the dense and easy muscling of myotonics I would like to experiment. I am trying to increase the size of my fainting goats.
This herd has big horns - the buck would be a trophy in Hawaii. Long twisting horns.
I also chose Spanish due to a desire to preserve rare breeds.
I am in Canada so it is really hard to find Spanish and we don't have very good record keeping of the breed.
I only have one picture right now but am getting more tomorrow.
Some of the herd are white but lots are dark.
The breeder started his herd a year ago from 2 different sources but he is a trucker on the road a lot and his wife doesn't want to take care of them.
As you can see they are Spanish *Cashmere* although they were hoping to concentrate on meat traits.
On flames or nasty comments please. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
I am not familiar with the Spanish breed, but I will be breeding my Boer doe to a Spanish buck. He is solid black with blue eyes.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
He sounds pretty! Should be a nice breeding. The blue eyes are dominant in myotonics. Probably the same with other goats.

·
Registered
637 Posts