anyone familiar with SPANISH goats?

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by ds622311, Oct 11, 2013.

1. yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. maybe

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. no

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. no, they are Aussie/cashmere

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. ds622311

ds622311 New Member

Oct 11, 2013
    I am new to this forum so not sure whether to post this here or in fibre goats or elsewhere. I am thinking about purchasing a goat herd and would love to get some feedback.... Such as if they are really spanish.... And any comments on the goats.
    I am fairly new to goats. I have a small trip of myotonics but am looking for a herd of breeding age does that I can breed my bucks to... After a few generations they can be considered myotonics as you can only find a few mature foes here and there.
    I chose Spanish due to their hardiness and similar appearance to fainting goats. With the larger Spanish frame combined with the dense and easy muscling of myotonics I would like to experiment. I am trying to increase the size of my fainting goats.
    This herd has big horns - the buck would be a trophy in Hawaii. Long twisting horns.
    I also chose Spanish due to a desire to preserve rare breeds.
    I am in Canada so it is really hard to find Spanish and we don't have very good record keeping of the breed.
    I only have one picture right now but am getting more tomorrow.
    Some of the herd are white but lots are dark.
    The breeder started his herd a year ago from 2 different sources but he is a trucker on the road a lot and his wife doesn't want to take care of them.
    As you can see they are Spanish *Cashmere* although they were hoping to concentrate on meat traits.
    On flames or nasty comments please. Thanks!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 11, 2013
  2. Scottyhorse

Scottyhorse New Member

I am not familiar with the Spanish breed, but I will be breeding my Boer doe to a Spanish buck. He is solid black with blue eyes.

3. ds622311

ds622311 New Member