Are lamancha goats friendly, kind???

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Willow's Meadow, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Willow's Meadow

Willow's Meadow New Member

Feb 22, 2011
    I might be getting some dairy goats this summer but I'm not sure which breed to get. Are lamancha goats friendly, kind, calm??? How much milk do they produce in one day???

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    Lamanchas from what i hear and have witnessed are very nice calm and friendly goats. But friendly is also relative to if they were handled properly when kids and adults. You can still have skittish Lamanchas if they were never really handled before

milk production is pretty high - but also is determined by their lines. Some lines are higher producing then others. I am not a lamancha expert so I will let someone else who raises them give you more specifics.

3. goathappy

goathappy New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Illinois
    LaManchas are so extremely sweet and calm(except when they're in heat) Like Stacey said it depends upon lines for milk production but most are good milkers averaging a gallon or more per day, with very good butterfat and protein despite milking higher volumes. Most high volume milkers will have less butterfat and protein in their milk when they milk more, but LaManchas don't. Also, LaManchas have long and level lactations. Where most breeds will peak in production two months after kidding then decline in production until fall breeding, LaManchas will milk a consistent amount after peaking until fall breeding. LaManchas also have the ability to milk through the winter without breeding while still milking adequately.

4. Kfin

Kfin New Member

Jun 23, 2010
    Canyon, TX