are my girls preggers? edited to add new pics

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by jay13, Dec 4, 2009.

1. jay13

jay13 New Member

Apr 12, 2009
    Central NC
    Ok, I am totally new to goats and we got two girls who will (hopefully) be first fresheners this spring. I've never been involved in the, erm, action part of the breeding process before and wasn't sure what to do/think/ect. We were able to rent a goat from a local Boer goat farm to breed to our girls as we won't need to add to our herd for quite some time. They are both Alpines. We brought him home in August as I was expecting OUR baby in September and didn't' want to have to worry about getting the new guy acclimated while we were working on sleep deprivation. Anyway, you should see him, he is cute his owner hasn't named him and we can't keep him so we just call him grapefruit. But he has these almost stubby lookin legs especially compared to the beautiful lines of the Alpines. We saw him try to mount the girls a couple times in mid October but it didn't seem as if he was tall enough to reach. I even went so far as to put a pallet in the pen with the hopes that he could use it as a step. :oops:

I have been on the board for a while, posted a looooong time back when I was trying to get things set up for the girls back in April. I did manage to take before pictures of their back sides (they don't want to stand still for that at all) It looks to me like they have filled out some but I dont' know if thats because we have started including some grain in their diet now that fall is here or if they are preggers. I managed to get new pics today and was wondering if anyone could help me determine if Grapefruit can go home now or if we have to keep him around much longer. The only sign I had that the girls were even in heat was the behavior of the buck ... doing that lip thing after sniffing their pee....eeeewwww. And I haven't seen that since October so I HOPE they are bred. Any thoughts?