1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If so, what are they?

·
1,524 Posts
TB, listeria, staph (from mastitis), ecoli, and several more I have forgotten (I am at work and unable to access my stuff at home) since my briad shuts down when I am at work.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
TB, listeria, staph (from mastitis), ecoli, and several more I have forgotten (I am at work and unable to access my stuff at home) since my briad shuts down when I am at work.
So, would you vaccinate for those and then test later to be sure, or ??? I'm new to everything and want to make sure that my family gets healthy milk when the time comes.

·
Super Moderator
58,901 Posts
You can test for those things but there are no vaccinations. Understand that each test is a separate charge.

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
Most of having healthy milk is just having healthy, clean goats. As long as you clean the udder before milking, keep your barn area clean and keep the goat living area clean you shouldn't have a problem.

·
2,203 Posts
I always sit and wonder about Johne's and Crohn's disease relation. Honestly I feel there is a relation but nevertheless. I try not drink positive milk.

·
Registered
18 Posts
comparisons

I've been wondering about scrapie in goats and parkinsons in humans as they both sound similar to each other . Now its been a while since i looked and made the comparison but if i remember correctly there looks to be a connection .
Any comment on this would be appreciated .

I always sit and wonder about Johne's and Crohn's disease relation. Honestly I feel there is a relation but nevertheless. I try not drink positive milk.

·
Registered
30,616 Posts
I agree with ptgoats45..healthy goats and healthy milking practices equal healthy milk...and test your goats annually ....

·
Registered
1,604 Posts