Assess this udder

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by keren, Jan 21, 2009.

1. keren

keren owned by goats

Oct 26, 2008
    Australia
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

No rear shot, sorry.

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    It is hard to tell, but seems like it could have better teat placement and bigger teats. Looks like has a medial line - but could be fuller on the back side. Front attachment looks weird to me .....

But I am NO expert by any means!

3. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    I'm not that great at this but,

She could have a smoother fore udder. It looks like she has a shelf or pocket.

Her teats could point down more. If she had a wider rear attachment then that would help with teat placement.

4. Sonrise Farm

Sonrise Farm New Member

Sep 18, 2008
    Southwick, Idaho
    I'm not sure you spelled the title right . . . I thought poor Anna's udder was getting cursed or something so I came to see what the fuss was about . . . :ROFL: . . .sorry, I'm not going to put my foot in my mouth about the udder. ;) It almost looks like spirit's . . .except her's has waaaayyy bigger and longer teats.

5. keren

keren owned by goats

Oct 26, 2008
    Australia
    Nope, not Anna's udder, another doe for sale (Grace and Kibale were sold on me, even though the breeder said she would wait until I came up this week :roll: long story) so I am still looking to add to the collection though.

This is a saanen doe for sale but I honestly think the breeder wants too much for her. She is either horned or scurred (cant remember which, I looked at a few of her goats), this one had by far the best udder of all her animals (some were awful) but she wants $400 for her. I dont think she's worth it because:

a) she's horned/scurred which means I cant show her without taking them off
    b) she has that pocket in the front of the udder, and her front attachment needs to be smoother