The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a new baby goat that was born on the 18th of September 2014 and is around 5 days old as I write this. He was the first triplet and the only surviving triplet of the birth, and nearly died at birth from hypothermia however I quickly intervened and saved him. He spends his nights indoors and days outdoors with his mother, however I have to milk his mother and bottle feed him as due to the fact he is unable to stand properly he can't nurse off his mother. His two back legs are stiff and seem to be unable to bend, I've had five years of experience with goats and the only health problems I've come across is a couple of stillborn kids and one case of goiter. I have never seen anything like this, I don't think that it's white muscle disease because he doesn't really seem to be in any pain and is otherwise healthy - bright, alert, always hungry and very vocal. He is strong on his front legs which appear normal and he always tries to stand up and gets very frustrated after many failed attempts to do so. It is upsetting watching him stumble around in circles because he literally can't lift his back end off the ground. He has feeling in his back legs though and he does make slight movements in his back legs and tail, however they aren't as strong as normal, I think his might have something to do with him being crammed in the womb with his two sisters which didn't make it, or he could have been stuck as I wasn't present at the birth - I need urgent help!! :(

·
Registered
3,790 Posts
The standard advise is to give him .5cc of BoSe and a Vit E gel cap squirted in his mouth. Kids almost always get over this and end up normal if they get enough to eat. I had several and I help them nurse their own mother every 4-6 hours by helping/holding them up. I believe the practice of standing with help, helps them get stronger faster.

·
Super Moderator
31,792 Posts