Barn advice/ new barn?

Discussion in 'Barnyard Bananza' started by Harriet_and_Hens, Oct 28, 2015.

1. Harriet_and_Hens

Harriet_and_Hens Goat Newbie

Apr 26, 2015
    Hartsgrove, Ohio
    Hello! I don't have any goats yet, so I am a complete newb, but we are trying to put together the best shelter for the spring. I was thinking about this one from the Home Depot: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Handy-Ho...t-x-12-ft-Wood-Storage-Shed-18631-8/202205311

It is a 8x12 wood shed. I know I will need to add additional supports to doors/ additional Windows, but has anyone used one of these pre-fab shed buildings? I wanted to stay away from a metal building bc we have a large one, and it retains A LOT of moisture. We recently built a 10x 10 plywood chicken coop, and while it is better on moisture, at the end of the day I feel it may be cheaper to buy a pre cut pre fab one.

I am open to thoughts/ suggestions

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

That would be fine. I would do a dirt floor. Depends on how many goats you plan to own.

3. thekibblegoddess

thekibblegoddess Member

Dec 13, 2014
    Sylvania, GA
    Dirt floors are the way to go. And remember, however much space you think you need for the goats, double that because you ARE going to get more than you think. And add just as much space for their feed, equipment, and a milkstand. Even if you're not milking the goats, you need one to trim feet and such. I didn't allow enough room to store hay, after all, I have only 2 goats, and boy, do i regret that. And interior supports need to be sunk 3' in the ground AND set in concrete because some goats never grow up enough to quit ricocheting off the walls! "I built the barn too big," said no one ever. :)

4. ShireRidgeFarm

ShireRidgeFarm Active Member

Sep 24, 2015
    Northern WV