The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm fairly new to goat raising but it seems like deworming is a very necessary part of keeping a healthy goat heard. I was wondering what you use for yours? So i thought i would make a topic for new people like me to see what everyones preference of dewormer. From what i learned on here and some research. I use ivermectin 1% injectable and every 2nd or 3rd time i use valbazen. No particular reason why jus seen someone recommended that. What do u use?

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
Good topic! I use Cydectin but this is because I have been having a BIG problem with parasites. It seems to be working very well but I am going to be switching to Molly's Herbal wormer so that we can drink the milk instead of having to pitch it. I am also worried about developing a resistance to the Cydectin as well. :)

I was also told to not rotate wormers and to use one until it stops working unless you have a problem that only the ivermectin will take care of.

·
728 Posts
We use safeguard and haven't had any worm problems. Knock on wood!!!

·
7 does - 2 bucks - 1 wether
11,090 Posts
I use Molly's herbal wormer, I also have started adding DE (wet down) to their feed daily, as my friends said it has made a big difference for them in their husky dogs.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I rotate to Valbazen every 2nd or 3rd to cover the bugs that ivermectin doesn't. Or thats what i got from reading other post. Is there a wormer out there that covers all worms and bugs??? Is there such a thing? Hopefully we can get some more comments on here im interested to see what everyone else is doing. Thanks

·
Registered
30,656 Posts
we use Ivomec plus on everyone but babies under 6 months and bran new moms..valbazen for new moms and babies...

see goat-link.com lookunder parasites and click the first link goat dewormin info

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)