best hay

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by cbou407, Nov 15, 2009.

1. cbou407

cbou407 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Louisiana
    whats the best hay everyone likes to give there goats?

2. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

Now remember I am new to this but i give my goats alfalfa or an alfalfa grass mix. Due to the fact that alfalfa has alot of protein and I thought my does were prego so I wanted to make sure they got the best now I am just starting to think I have fat goats.

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    you will get mixed answers because different areas have better quality hay of different types as well as people all raise different breeds and different ways. (ok thats a lot of "different" :p )

For me and my area: Grass is best for bucks and wethers, alfalfa is good for milkers and pregnant does. Maiden does or non producers will no need an alfalfa hay - now if its real cold out they could benefit from it.

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    My goats get alfalfa...mostly.....sometimes alfalfa oat mix is really good to....they also get oat hay or aflafa/ grass mix...it all depends on the time of year.... and if the does are preggo....and what stage of pregnancy they are in...... But be careful......... if you have bucks or wethers with Alfalfa ........as they can get.......... Urinary Calculi from eating it all the time.... :wink:

5. cbou407

cbou407 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Louisiana
    well i give all my young show kids alfalfa when i feed them and to my pregnant does the last month or two before they kid. i should have been more specific and ask the best hay year round. such as bahia,bermuda,just mixed grass.

6. sparks879

sparks879 New Member