The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in Texas which is currently experiencing an ice storm the likes of which hasn't been seen in these parts for 10 years. It's been icy rain and days of wind & plummeting temps that crescendos with a lows of 0 degrees on Monday night.

Because I am relatively new to goats, I am experiencing so much anxiety over my goats during this storm! I bought long electrical cords, heat lamps, etc. and spent a lot of time rigging up warm shelters with lots of bedding.

So what happens? Power's out. Powers out for a loooonnng time is the word on the streets. We have no heat in the house and no water flowing for over 24 hours. And, of course, there's no heat lamps. I still have my shelters all bedded up and forced the goats in during the rain, but now with no rain and just cold, they are actually choosing NOT to go in. It's driving me nuts because I HATE that they're cold and furious they aren't using the shelters and worried they'll be sick.

They can go in to the shelters they want. I can break the ice on the water tank. I'll feed them a lot of food. But I have no choice but to let what happens, happens. So much for best laid plans.

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
Keep them well supplied with hay given free choice. Will help keep them warm from the inside out. Putting hay out twice a day helps cut down on the waste, over putting too much out in the mornings and having them pick over it throughout the day.

Sorry you all are out of electricity, it has to be extremely rough for your family. Hopefully the power company can get it restored sooner than later. Hang in there and take care. :hug:

·
Registered
389 Posts