The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at this meat goat business. What is the best way to sell my goats when they are ready? Is the it better to advertise and sell to individuals or take them to sale?

·
14,615 Posts
You can do well at the sale barn IF they go the week before an ethnic holiday. Ours takes a 10% cut, which isnt unreasonable considering I dont have to haggle with prices or have drive by customers out of the blue.
Any advertising you can do; get the word out. Even if you dont go to shows you can sponser division championships, donate to raffles & last but not least, support 4h & FFA.
And get yourself a GoatSpot decal.;)
Welcome to the forum!

·
I'm watching you
22,271 Posts
For some holidays the Muslims need the most perfect unblemished animal they can afford. That means no disbudding and no castrating. Check out the different holidays so that you have an idea of what your market might be.

·
14,615 Posts
It took a few years to get our name out there. Most of it is word of mouth.
Only a few each year are exceptional as far as shows are concerned; where we dont always bring home the blue or red but when you get to the top 3 or so in a big class people start to notice.
We're pretty much sold out for this season. Here's the kicker; when you get to know other breeders you can always refer inquiries & visa versa.
We always carry business cards to hand out & leave at feed stores, the vet, anywhere applicable. We have a magnetic sign on truck doors that can be read a good 50 feet away.
Re; raffles, I bought lots of tickets & our farm name kept getting called.
People start to recognize you especially if you are in a supportive role.

·
Registered
59 Posts
personal conatct