Billy in Rut

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by 3pygmymom, Nov 16, 2009.

1. 3pygmymom

3pygmymom New Member

Nov 16, 2009
    Lancaster, PA
    I have a pygmy billy in rut and he is bullying the does! I had to block him out of the big barn tonight to give the girls some rest, he just keeps chasing one or both around the playground they have. Is this normal and should I keep them separated? One doe is going out of heat, discharge appeared today and the other is about to go into heat. When I do separate them they "cry" for each other and dont go far from the pen. I put the does out in the meadow with the sheep and they dont travel far away from the pen. Looking for any suggestions or help as this is my first time with the rut and billy. How long does the rut season last and will his behavior change???

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    rut season is a long one.....bucks are usually a little different out of rut..... it varies from buck to buck ...the time of year..it is....and the does being in season....

Your doe should tell him ...she is out of season..some bucks try for a while after...asking and chasing the doe....running from him... should tell him... she doesn't want him anymore and he should back off... within a couple of days..and leave her alone..then start on the one ...that is coming in season......normally ...he will get the hint ...but if you feel ...the doe is being stressed days after being out of season....then you should..remove the doe that already was serviced..... :wink:

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I dont keep my buck in with my does but onlybring the doe to the buck when she is in heat. But when I have run a buck with the does he usualy chases them more when I am around - I think its like a dominate thing since I am top in the herd and he is feeling challenged by me :shrug: